Solo Trail Run – Constantia Nek to Newlands Carousel

So yesterday I decided it’s time to do a longer trail run…and I ended up regretting it!  I have normally been sticking to 2 hours but I wanted to up it a bit to 3 hours.  I took 4 hours T_T

Anyway, due to safety reasons, I only start trail running few minutes before sunrise (when its already light out) and checked in Tracking at 7:10am, 1 pax, Trail Run, Constantia Nek to Newlands Carousel and back, ETA 10am.   I forgot my pepper spray and whistle at home!  SIGH  Constantia Nek is a mugging hotspot and I forget my self defence!  I put all my faith in God.

DSC_1214

 

I wanted to take a photo of the sunrise at the same spot we got awesome shots from but alas, the sun rose from behind the trees, not the mountain (from that spot) so canned that idea.  I run along. The gradual incline is still a killer and I’m still not fit or strong enough to run it without stopping.  At least I know I can run that steep steps up Kloof Corner with only 1 or 2 breaks.  Gradual inclines?  Not.  I have hikers legs, not trail runners legs…yet.

DSC_1212

Did manage to take one great sunrise shot at one of the bends though and run when I can and walk when I have to.  I only stopped to take photos and that’s taking my backpack off, take out my phone, take photos, return phone to backpack and put it on again.  Admittedly, this took up a lot of time and I tried not to take too many photos.

Past Kirstenboch, Nursery Ravine (still no stream despite recent rains) and I am at Skeleton Waterfall by 8am and update tracking that I’m taking a 2 minute breather there.  Also asked a veteran hiker to take photos of me so that I don’t have to take a selfie hehe.

DSC_1224

I estimated that I would take around 30 minutes to the Carousel and when I get to the fork up the contour path and dreaded this zig-zag incline sigh.  I wished I was rather on Platteklip but I got myself into this sigh.

DSC_1227

I run up a little but gave up quickly as my legs were tired and I need my strength coming back.  I hiked all the way up mumbling to myself.  I must admit that I thoroughly enjoyed the solitude and didn’t fear for my life at all.  Not many on the paths yesterday being Easter Sunday and I guess people opted to go to church.  I appreciated not having so many dogs on the trail either 😛

By 8:30, I was still going up the damn path sigh.   I was only halfway T_T still taking photos and videos.  Still mumbling to myself.

DSC_1244

Eventually its downhill and felt the impact on my knee sigh!  I only stopped once to take photos on the flat path and eventually arrive at the Carousel at 9am!  No way would I be back at 10am!  T_T

Update tracking and notify them that I would take a shortcut but in my mind, I don’t know where the shortcut would lead me and I was in no mood for a detour with even more up hills.  Rather stick to what I know no matter how hard it is.  Also, I had enough water ^_^

DSC_1249

After a 15 minute break with stretches and wringing the sweat out my buff, I make my way back and extended my ETA to 11am sigh

At the first sign, I weigh my options and check the map and from where I was, the path was a terribly long detour so grateful I stuck to what I knew!  Also just read on the photo I took of the map that the terrible incline is called Dassieklip!

The uphill from this side is thankfully not as bad but OMG!!! Running downhill was torture!  I was so looking forward to running downhill but now my toes were hurting and my knees!  Took a video of my run downhill and soon my mumbling started again.  I was looking forward to the straight flat path again but when I got on the flat path, I could feel the friction between my toes!  Oh gawd!  I can’t get blisters as I’m going rock-climbing the next day T_T.

DSC_1256

Run, ouch, walk, ouch ouch and stop at the strong stream and wash my face and neck as its hot now.  Also took a video here as seeing and actually hearing strong streams is a phenomenon during our drought and water crisis.

I had to do something about my toes and when I got to Kirstenbosch, I took my shoes and socks off and decided to go barefoot!  Not a great idea!  I forgot that hiking downhill is THE worst!  Back on flat path and decided to put tissues between my toes and put my shoes back on without socks lol.

DSC_1254

So much better!  Why didn’t I think of this before!  I could run/walk without much pain but my pace is slower as I am so very tired!   Now the mountain bikers are on the path and a few dogs here and there and just past the boom, I ran out of water.  No biggie as I was nearly done.

Eventually check out of Tracking at 11:08am.  SIGH.  I mumbled to myself all the way home.

DSC_1258

My knees did not enjoy that at all!  I eventually googled it and it turned out I had runners knees T_T the impact of running up and down hill T_T meh

My intended 3 hour trail run ended up being 4 hours as I forgot how long the path is and underestimated how long I would take on the up hills sigh.  My next Trail run, I’m sticking to 3 hours and work my way up from there!

Until my next mountain adventure, ciao for now and thank you for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

